Loughborough University Leicestershire, UK LE11 3TU +44 (0)1509 263171



University Governance

University Ordinances

Ordinance XXI

Appointments of Deans of Schools and Tenure of Office

(Version effective from 1 August 2011 until 26 November 2013)

1. Appointment of Deans of Schools

Deans of Schools shall be appointed on the recommendation of a Joint Committee of Senate and Council chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. Deans shall hold office for such periods and on such terms and conditions and shall have such functions as the Council may from time to time determine, after receiving the advice of the Vice-Chancellor.

2. Tenure of Office

- (i) The Deans shall normally be appointed for three years in the first instance. Appointments may be extended by further periods of office. Each period of office shall be up to three years. He/she shall not normally be eligible for re-appointment to the office of Dean for a period of three years after his/her retirement.
- (ii) Deans of Schools shall normally be appointed from among the professors of the University but in exceptional circumstances external candidates may be considered.
- (iii) The same procedures will be applied for extension of appointments as pertain for initial appointments.

Details of the appointment procedure are documented in the Committee Handbook - Annex 11.

Contact: registry.web@lboro.ac.uk